Judging the radical

There is someone I regularly pass judgment upon. I try not to. But he has a way of deflating my perceived piety because whenever I am around him, I feel myself judging him. He just doesn’t fit into my spiritual box.

Nearly every time I see him, God teaches me the same lesson: “Stop judging, my child.” And I am convicted once again.

Spirituality isn’t confined to what I think it should look like. And when I’m not so busy being full of myself and how I am doing spirituality perfectly, then I see how God displays His attributes differently in different people. So how can I put His personality in a box?

And I think of the people in the Bible who more focused on God than on themselves. They had to do some pretty radical things: leading an entire people group out of slavery, taking messages of judgment to God’s people, marrying a prostitute, living a wild desert life, and giving up normality to have a child out of wedlock…a child conceived by the Holy Spirit.

So how can I say that I know what a relationship with God looks like for every person? He doesn’t give us all of the same callings or the same giftings. And I am thankful that not everyone is as closed-minded as I am about following God radically.

2 thoughts on “Judging the radical

  1. Amen! I think this sort of thing so often about different people. It is good to know that God calls many different sorts of people, and that I do not know the breadth and the depth of his calling.

    • Yes, and often spirituality is not what we expect it to be. Think of all of the people who probably judged Isaiah, Jeremiah, John the Baptist, etc. I need to stop limiting God. 🙂

Leave a Reply

